Screen Reader Access Skip to Main Content Font Size   Increase Font size Normal Font Decrease Font size
Indian Railway main logo
Search :
Find us on Facebook   Find us on Twitter Find us on Youtube View Content in Hindi
National Emblem of India


Citizen Charter



Tenders & Bill Status

News & Updates

Contact Us

Bookmark Mail this page Print this page

                                        ODR-WISE OUTSTANDING DETAILS                                   


The South Eastern Railway, formed after re-organization of the indian Railways on 1st August, 1955, was the successor of famous Bengal-Nagpur Railway (BNR) established in 1887. The South Eastern Railway trifurcated into three Zonal Railways w.e.f. 1st April’2003 – East Coast Railway, East Central Railway and South Eastern Railway. SER is headquartered at Garden Reach, Kolkata.

Carrying the rich legacy of erstwhile Bengal-Nagpur Railway, South Eastern Railway in its physical spread occupies only 4% of total route kilometers; it generates nearly 14% originating freight loading of Indian Railways. This Railway is famous for Iron Ore loading. After trifurcation, South Eastern Railway gradually improved the freight loading from 69.15 MT in FY 2003-04  to 171.96 MT in FY 2019-20.

The South Eastern Railway (SER) is one of the sixteen railway zones in India. It is headquartered at Garden Reach, Kolkata. It comprises of four divisions:

  1. Adra Division
  2. Chakradharpur Division
  3. Kharagpur Division
  4. Ranchi Division

Source : South Eastern Railway CMS Team Last Reviewed : 18-03-2021  

  Admin Login | Site Map | Contact Us | RTI | Disclaimer | Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy Valid CSS! Valid XHTML 1.0 Strict

© 2016  All Rights Reserved.

This is the Portal of Indian Railways, developed with an objective to enable a single window access to information and services being provided by the various Indian Railways entities. The content in this Portal is the result of a collaborative effort of various Indian Railways Entities and Departments Maintained by CRIS, Ministry of Railways, Government of India.