Screen Reader Access Skip to Main Content Font Size   Increase Font size Normal Font Decrease Font size
Indian Railway main logo
Search :
Find us on Facebook   Find us on Twitter Find us on Youtube View Content in Hindi
National Emblem of India


Citizen Charter



Tenders & Bill Status

News & Updates

Contact Us

Bookmark Mail this page Print this page

                                        ODR-WISE OUTSTANDING DETAILS                                   

                                       A SHORT HISTORY OF SOUTH EASTERN RAILWAY

           The South Eastern Railway, formed after re-organization of the indian Railways on 1st August, 1955, was the successor of famous Bengal-Nagpur Railway (BNR) established in 1887. The South Eastern Railway trifurcated into three Zonal Railways w.e.f. 1st April’2003 – East Coast Railway, East Central Railway and South Eastern Railway. SER is headquartered at Garden Reach, Kolkata.

Carrying the rich legacy of erstwhile Bengal-Nagpur Railway, South Eastern Railway in its physical spread occupies only 4% of total route kilometers; it generates nearly 14% originating freight loading of Indian Railways. This Railway is famous for Iron Ore loading. After trifurcation, South Eastern Railway gradually improved the loading from the finacial year 2003-04, 69.15 MT to 2009-10, 125.91 MT. In the finanacial year 2010-11this railway failed to achieve the target due to sharp drop of Iron Ore demand and ultimately loaded 123.12 MT.

The South Eastern Railway (SER) is one of the sixteen railway zones in India. It is headquartered at Garden Reach, Kolkata. It comprises of four divisions:

  1. Adra Division
  2. Chakradharpur Division
  3. Kharagpur Division
  4. Ranchi Division



Source : South Eastern Railway CMS Team Last Reviewed on: 07-06-2017  

  Admin Login | Site Map | Contact Us | RTI | Disclaimer | Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy Valid CSS! Valid XHTML 1.0 Strict

© 2016  All Rights Reserved.

This is the Portal of Indian Railways, developed with an objective to enable a single window access to information and services being provided by the various Indian Railways entities. The content in this Portal is the result of a collaborative effort of various Indian Railways Entities and Departments Maintained by CRIS, Ministry of Railways, Government of India.