Screen Reader Access Skip to Main Content Font Size   Increase Font size Normal Font Decrease Font size
Indian Railway main logo
Find us on Facebook   Find us on Twitter Find us on Youtube View Content in English
National Emblem of India


Citizen Charter




समाचार एवं अद्यतन

हमसे संपर्क करें

Bookmark Mail this page Print this page
Milestones since BNR to SER



South Eastern Railway was earlier known as Bengal Nagpur Railway (BNR). Major events in the development of SE Railway are given below :



The Bengal Nagpur Railway was formed.


The construction of a new bridge over the Kanhah River commenced in 1884 and was completed in 1887.

4th Dec 1888

The section from Rajnandgaon to Raipur was opened for traffic.

14th Feb 1889

The section from Raipur to Bilaspur was opened for traffic.

6th Oct 1890

The East Coast Railway was inaugurated.

1st Feb 1891

The main line for BNR from Nagpur to Asansol was opened for Goods traffic.

9th Mar 1891

The Bilaspur-Katni Branch was opened for traffic.

1st Oct 1892

The Saranda tunnel was completed and opened for traffic

21st Aug 1893

The Kakinada-Visakhapatnam line was opened for traffic.

1893 to 1896

800 miles of East Coast Railway line was built and opened for traffic.

1893 to 1896

East Coast Railway built some of the largest bridges viz. Brahmani, Mahanadi, Katjuri, Kuakhai and Birupa during the period.

1st Feb 1897

Khurda Road-Puri (27 miles) section was opened for traffic.


The most vital section of BNR viz. Sini-Kharagpur & Kolaghat and Kharagpur-Cuttack were opened for traffic.

1st Jan 1899

BNR�s Line to Cuttack was opened.


Kolaghat-Howrah section was completed.

19th April 1900

Roopanarayan Bridge near Kolaghat was opened and first train passed over.

March 1901

The construction of a bridge on River Mahanadi near Cuttack was completed.

1st Feb 1901

Kharagpur-Midnapur Branch line was opened for traffic.


45.74 miles long Dhamtari line and 10.50 miles long Rajim Branch were opened for traffic.

13th April 1903

The first portion of Gondia-Nainpur (73 miles) was opened.


Nainpur became the focal point of Satpura lines.Nainpur-Chindwara section was opened for traffic.


Nainpur-Gondia line was extended upto Jabalpur.

15th Nov 1907

Purulia-Ranchi Branch was opened for traffic.


Extension of Gomoh, a point of East Indian Railways main line was completed.


The Head Office Building of B N R was constructed at a cost of Rs.7, 01,995/-

Nov 1908

Gondia-Nagbhir-Nagpur line was opened for traffic.


Vizianagaram-Parvatipuram (49 miles) section was opened


A 40 mile branch line from Tatanagar to Gurumahisarani where plenty of iron ores are available was opened for traffic.


Nagpur-Chidwara extension was opened for traffic.With this, the biggest network of narrow gauge line in Indian Sub-continent was completed. Its length was extended 610 miles.This Satpura line project was initiated by Sir T.R.Wynne.


Mohuda-Chandrapura (9 miles) Branch was opened for traffic.


Nagbhir-Rajoli (30 miles) was opened and extended upto Chanda.


Extension to Salur on Vizianagaram-Parvatipuram section was opened.


B N R Hotel at Ranchi was established.


Bankura-Damodar River Railway in narrow gauge was built by Bengal Nagpur Railway.


Burnpur, India�s second largest Iron & Steel Plant was established.


BNR Hotel at Puri was established.


Tatanagar-Gurumahisani line was extended upto Badampahar.


To feed iron ore and magnese ores to Burnpur Steel Plant Amda,(New Khurswan) on BNR�s main line built.

17th Jan 1924

Kharswan-Dongaposi was opened for traffic.

Feb 1925

Extension to Gua was completed.

20th Mar 1927

72 mile Barkakhana-Chandil section was opened for traffic.


54 mile long AnuppurChirimiri section was opened


Shalimar Goods Shed on the bank of River Hooghly was in operational.


Parlakmedi-Gunupur section was opened in two portions in 1929 and 1931

Dec 1931

Raipur-Parvatipuram line was completed.


The development of Vizag Port by Bengal Nagpur Railway was completed.

18TH Dec 1933

The Visakhapatnam Port was officially declared open by His Excellency Lord Willingtorn, the then Viceroy and Governor General of India.

1st Oct 1944

The management of Bengal Nagpur Railway was taken by Government of India.

Raipur-Dhamtari Branch was the first Narrow Gauge line of Bengal Nagpur Railway.


B N R Emerged as South Eastern Railway.


The Visakhapatnam Port was managed by Bengal Nagpur Railway till October.

14th May 1958

Bhillai-Dallijahara line was opened for traffic.

4th Feb 1959

Bhilai Steel Plant was built and inaugurated by Dr.Rajendra Prasad, President of India. The steel plant was situated between Durg and Raipur on S.E.Railway�s main stream.


The Dandakaranya-Bolangir-Kiriburu Railway Project.


Ranchi-Kotshila was converted into BG

31st Jan 1962

Foundation stone of Cuttack-Paradip line was laid by the then Prime Minister, Late Jawarlal Nehru.

April 1963

Sambalpur-Titlagarh line was opened for traffic.

April 1964

For the transportation of bulk raw materials for Bokaro Steel Plant, Durg-Bokaro section was opened for traffic.


Bokaro Steel Plant was set up with Soviet Collaboration.

July 1967

South Eastern Railway took over Bankura Domodar River line.

Jan 1968

Panskura-Durgachak section was opened for traffic.


Cuttack-Paradip line was inaugurated.

9th July 1973

Cuttack-Paradip line was opened for traffic.

1st June 1976

S E R introduced EMU train services between Panskura & Haldia.

28 Feb 1977

Jhakpura-Daitari line was opened for traffic.

18th Dec 1979

Direct EMU service between Howrah and Haldia started.

1st Sept 1980

Kirandul-Jagadalpur line was energized.


Jagadalpur-Koraput section was energized.

11th Nov 1989

Inauguration of Shalimar-Haldia Intercity Exp.byMR


Foundation stone of BDR Gauge Conversion was laid by Hon�ble Minister for Railways.

18th Nov 2000

Banspani-Joroli (10.44 Km) was opened for traffic.

1st April 2000

Introduction of Howrah-Purulia Rupasi Bangla Exp. And Bankura-Shalimar Aranyak Exp. By Hon�ble MR.

1st July, 2000

Howrah � Bankura Shiromoni MEMU Passenger service introduced by Hon�ble MR

15th Mar 2001

Adra-Purulia MEMU Passenger Service introduced by Hon�ble MR

17th Oct. 2001

Hatia-New Delhi Weekly Rajdhani Express and Hatia-Baidyanathdham Exp. Were flagged off by Hon�ble MR

27th Oct. 2001

Raipur-Durg MEMU Passenger train was flagged off by Hon�ble MR

28th Oct 2001

Bilaspur-New Delhi Weekly Rajdhani Exp. Was flagged off by Hon�ble MR

28th Oct 2001

Howrah-Bokaro Shatabdi Express extended up to RANCHI by Hon�ble MR.


Source : South Eastern Railway CMS Team Last Reviewed : 04-06-2014  

  प्रशासनिक लॉगिन | साईट मैप | हमसे संपर्क करें | आरटीआई | अस्वीकरण | नियम एवं शर्तें | गोपनीयता नीति Valid CSS! Valid XHTML 1.0 Strict

© 2010  सभी अधिकार सुरक्षित

यह भारतीय रेल के पोर्टल, एक के लिए एक एकल खिड़की सूचना और सेवाओं के लिए उपयोग की जा रही विभिन्न भारतीय रेल संस्थाओं द्वारा प्रदान के उद्देश्य से विकसित की है. इस पोर्टल में सामग्री विभिन्न भारतीय रेल संस्थाओं और विभागों क्रिस, रेल मंत्रालय, भारत सरकार द्वारा बनाए रखा का एक सहयोगात्मक प्रयास का परिणाम है.