Screen Reader Access Skip to Main Content Font Size   Increase Font size Normal Font Decrease Font size
Indian Railway main logo
Search :
Find us on Facebook   Find us on Twitter Find us on Youtube View Content in Hindi
National Emblem of India


Citizen Charter



Tenders & Bill Status

News & Updates

Contact Us

Bookmark Mail this page Print this page
S&T department of S.E.Rly

Signal & Telecom Department of S.E.Railway is headed by Shri K. C. Bairwa, Principal Chief Signal & Telecommunication Engineer (PCSTE). He is assisted by Chief Signal Engineer (CSE), Chief Communication Engineer (CCE) and Chief Signal & Telecom Engineer (Planning), & Chief Signal & Telecommunication Engineer/Project (CSTE/Project) for all Signaling & Telecommunication maintenance planning & Project works.

All the above administrative S&T officers are being assisted by different Junior level administrative grade officers & other executive S&T officers in Zonal Head Quarters level.

The whole zone of South Eastern Railway is divided into four divisions for effective management of all operational and maintenance activities. These are Adra division, Chakradharpur division, Kharagpur division and Ranchi division. Maintenance and operation of all S&T gears of these four divisions are executed through four Junior level Administrative Grade S&T officers. These four Junior administrative level officers (Sr.DSTEs) are assisted by Executive level S&T officers at field level.

All S&T project activities of four divisions are being executed by 4 junior administrative level officers (Dy.CSTEs) who are being assisted by different executive level officers at field level.

Supervisory & Maintenance staff have been deployed at different Tiers of Headquarters & 4 Divisions who are directly responsible for efficient maintenance of all Signal & Telecom activities.

The S&T organization of S.E.Railway is having 79 officers & 2986 staff.

The key features of S.E.Railway are as follows:

Srl. No.


Provided as on



Total Block Stations

315 stations


Route Relay Interlocking



Electronic Interlocking



Panel Interlocking



Lever Frame

23 stations


Intermediate Block Signal (IBS) for increasing train capacity.

45 IBS


Auto Signalling (Rkm.) for increasing train capacity.

194.6 Route Km.


Track Circuits (Complete Stations)

315 stations

5 (a)

Interlocked Level Crossing Gates.

379 L.C.Gates


Manned L.C.Gates (provided with Telephone)

911 L.C.Gates


Sliding Boom at L.C.Gates

328 L.C.Gates


LVCD / BPAC for train detection in section

302 Sections


Data Logger

307 stations

8 (a)

LED Signal for improved visibility.



LED Signal Provided at Main Line Signals (Stations)



Integrated Power Supply (IPS) at Stations


Source : South Eastern Railway CMS Team Last Reviewed : 02-05-2024  

  Admin Login | Site Map | Contact Us | RTI | Disclaimer | Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy Valid CSS! Valid XHTML 1.0 Strict

© 2016  All Rights Reserved.

This is the Portal of Indian Railways, developed with an objective to enable a single window access to information and services being provided by the various Indian Railways entities. The content in this Portal is the result of a collaborative effort of various Indian Railways Entities and Departments Maintained by CRIS, Ministry of Railways, Government of India.